Arcadia Avenue Quilt

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have to admit that I was not always a huge fan of foundation paper piecing but  have come to love the result and even enjoy the process.  I have been working, slowly but surely, on my Arcadia Avenue quilt by  Sassafras Lane (http://sassafras-lane.com/).  The first three months are completed and it has certainly taken me more than 3 months but I am thoroughly enjoying this quilt.

Part of the creative fun in this quilt has been fussy cutting from my fabric.  I love the elephants dancing around the block for month 3.  I have some sloth fabric that I am dying to fussy cut for another block!

For anyone interested in trying foundation paper piecing I would definitely recommend starching the fabrics before cutting.  I did use a couple of different spray starches in addition to making  my own starch but I found that the most effective one was the Niagara Spray Starch found here (http://www.niagarastarch.com/products.php).  I roughly cut the pieces that I would need for each block beforehand and sprayed the starch outside.  I will keep you posted as I progress through the remaining blocks but I can honestly say that it is a lot of fun working on this quilt!

1 thought on “Arcadia Avenue Quilt

Leave a comment